Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

wwcd?

All through the month of August, Eleanor has been having the grandparently last hurrah of summer, heading off to spend a little time along with her various grandparents. So since she doesn't drive yet, I've been spending a little time on I-64 over the last few weeks.

Last week, I saw the following bumper sticker:

W.W.C.D. with a big picture of the Stars and Bars flag.

What would the Confederacy do?

I find myself baffled. I mean, I kind of get the whole "What would Jesus do?" thing. Give me a hypothetical situation, and I think I could come up with a plausible answer to that question for Jesus. Jesus would not cut off other drivers; he wouldn't like the Bush tax cuts; he would make generous charitable contributions; he would have a beard.

But the Confederacy? I mean, it seems like the answer would be usually, "enslave people of color in order to produce massive amounts of cotton." At best, it's "filibuster for states' rights." While interesting, those are not particularly illuminating answers if the question is: What would the Confederacy do if the cashier accidentally gives them back too much change?

1:38 p.m. - 2006-08-26
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you, dear readers

Bless your hearts, dear readers. I am now the number one hit on google if you type in "Jenny Hobson." Thanks for reading and thanks for feeding my maniacal ego.

1:11 p.m. - 2006-08-26
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And now for something different

The beginning of a new multi-part series:

DIRTY LITTLE SECRETS OF CHILDREN'S BOOKS AND TV

We just read "Dora Goes to School." Something tells me that if kindergartners need to ride the bus, take a train, and fly with condors just to get to school, maybe the school district needs to rethink its transportation plan.

2:14 p.m. - 2006-08-23
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>