Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Trouser Trouble

I spent some time today trying to find pants. It behooves me to try to understand the mysteries of retailers. When I was a young girl, no retailers carried pants in long lengths for women. Too many years of wearing too short pants and the nickname "high water" in middle school have left me with a repugnance for overly short trousers.

Then for a few golden years, your average mall retailer did carry long lengths. I rejoiced; I bought cheap pants; they fit.

Now, it seems, the pendulum has swung. All the pants today I saw were average or short lengths. No longs, except for tapered khakis. God knows if any woman should avoid tapered pants, it is the tall woman.

Retailers of America, can I just say this to you: short women can hem their pants. Tall women can't add inches of fabric, and soon we shall revolt. You've kept us timid and awkward for years in our too short pants; we've had to look for extra long socks to try to hide the gap between trouser and leg when we sit down; we've embraced boot wearing for the same disguise; we've tried to cover our womanly asses with men's pants (which come in a wide range of lengths, but without give in the seat area). We've worn our few favorite pairs of trousers into shreds

But soon, we shall rise up in our tatters and demand a 32", nay a 34" inseam. Giantesses of the world, unite! You have nothing to lose but cold ankles!

(Or you could like me, go online and order pants with adequate inseams from l.l. bean)

4:55 p.m. - 2006-08-20
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

E-mail Blues

I owe everyone on earth an email. Whoa, that sounds a little ego-driven. I will say that there are several very special people to whom I owe emails, letters, etc. I feel wretched, as if I owed all humanity an individual email. I want to be a stoic Midwesterner and not make excuses and just do my duty. But we are on the roller-coaster ride to the beginning of the school year, and I don't know when I'll have a chance to write email again. Stoic midwesterners would point out that I could have written at least one email in the time it's taken me write this.

But then only one of my friends would be less neglected.

5:25 p.m. - 2006-08-19
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>