Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the covers on our bed

-- The other day, Eleanor was playing under the blankets on our bed, and she farted. She informed me that this was "Eleanor's first stinky fart." As the recipient of many a direct butt-to-nose expulsions, I can testify that this is not the case.

-- The blankets on our bed: Eleanor's new obsessive play area. She wants to pull all our blankets over her head. I've stopped making our bed in the morning because as soon as I'm out of it, she's in it. I remember at the height of infant sleeplessness, maybe around 10 months, I asked my mom, "By the time Eleanor's old enough to learn to make the bed, will we have enough energy to show her?" Now we're waiting until her fascination with the blankets subsides.

-- It's fun to watch Eleanor at large gatherings. Whenever she gets worn out by all the energy, she just takes a mini-break and withdraws by herself for a few minutes. Last week at our party, I noticed that I hadn't seen her in a few minutes. There she was playing under our covers.

-- The other day, our covers were a castle. I asked her if she was queen of the castle, "No, Eleanor of the castle." She was highly offended. I asked if she was king, thinking maybe she preferred to be king. "No, Eleanor of the castle." Then I went for the little girl answer, "Princess." "No, Eleanor of the castle." (I remembered then that she always gets pissed off when her grandparents tell her that she's a little princess). So I asked if I was queen of the castle, "No, mommy of the castle." And then just to be clear, "Daddy not a king." Her democratic pinko ways continue.

6:36 p.m. - 2004-10-09
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>