Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Flashbacks

Some things take a long time.

I find myself this morning suddenly enraged at a NICU nurse from over two years ago. You remember, the one who pulled out Eleanor's PICC line, blamed me for it so that she wouldn't have to do as much charting, gave me a lecture on how I would need to treat my fragile baby more gently, violated confidentiality by discussing Eleanor loudly and derogatorily (how exactly do you be derogatory of a 3 and a half pound baby?) at the front desk, and then misinformed me that the hospital was discarding all of my pumped milk rather than giving it to Eleanor.

And despite multiple contacts with the unit social worker, nothing was ever done about the situation because the nurse manager was on vacation and the nurse in question was a nurse from another unit pulled in to work the NICU on a Sunday.

To my surprise, I'm still working on acceptance and forgiveness and letting go of bitterness on this one.

9:10 a.m. - 2004-10-06
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>