Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

toilet training stuff

-- I am the midwife of poop. Eleanor sits on the toilet and pushes, and I reassure her. My mom says that watching "A Baby Story" always makes her bear down during the labor scenes, and that's true. But nothing makes me bear down like sitting on the bathroom floor, helping my constipated daughter poop. Good thing my pelvic floor is up to snuff.

-- Midwives of birthing mamas undoubtedly don't have to come up with a system for figuring out when the process is done. Midwives of pooping toddlers do. Our method is to sing "Twinkle, twinkle little star." We know the pooping is done when we can get all the way through with no poop.

-- The cup from Eleanor's potty is so similar to a coffee cup that I have a morbid fear of accidentally taking a sip while I am hauling it to the toilet to flush. This is how tired I can be.

-- I can write about grief, power and control, touching moments; but these are the details of my day, still very elimination-oriented, two years on.

-- But less elimination-oriented, praise be. I haven't washed diapers in over a month.

8:57 p.m. - 2004-09-13
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>