Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hunter Education

In light of the assault weapons ban expiration (which is disgusting), I find myself reminiscing about Hunter Education. Yea, pinko though I be, I did take Hunter Education as an eighth graders and as required by law; however, I did not go on the field trip to shoot the gun (I wonder if they still do that field trip in a post Columbine world) along with 3 or 4 other girls who sat in the library during the gun shooting field trip.

At the time, I was mystified by Hunter Education because it all seemed pretty simple except for the various techniques for crossing a fence with a shotgun. I mean, use the safety, don't point it at people, try not to shoot your own feet. It really didn't seem like it deserved an entire class.

Now as an adult, I understand that all this was aimed at trying to inculcate some basic safety principles over and over again before the boys all went out hunting with that essential hunting accessory: liquor.

As an eighth grader, I had no idea that people liked to drink while they were hunting. I would have been shocked.

It really is good that you come to understand more as you get older.

Of course as an eighth grader, I also didn't understand that "gun cleaning accident" is a euphemism, so I did think the emphasis on appropriate cleaning of the gun was a good thing.

10:27 a.m. - 2004-09-15
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>