Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The first tantrum

The first real tantrum today, the kind of tantrum that lets you know that previous "fits" were just moments of pique, minor disagreements.

I understand now why they call it a "meltdown." For the better part of an hour, Eleanor shrieked and said "no" to all suggestions. Never did I think I would hear her say "No Big Bird, no big bird."

The original upset came because Grandma wouldn't give her candy until after she'd finished her lunch (so unreasonable! Not.) And then it escalated to encompass all life forms and maybe all inert masses on Earth.

Finally, she allowed herself to be taken onto my lap and to settle down and then to eat lunch. Chris and I were limp inert masses on the floor.

And then just like an adult fight, there was the making up. Kisses all around, hugs to Daddy and Mommy, reassurances that we're all still okay with one another.

I may remain a limp mass for a while.

God, I hope this is a rare happening.

4:44 p.m. - 2004-07-11
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>