Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ho Ho

Discourses on the Nature of Santa Claus:

#1
Jenny: What do you want Santa to bring you? (subtext, please tell me if there's something you're really hoping for that I don't know about. You want to get Daddy a new car for Christmas, so I may need to do some damage limitations here).
Eleanor: I don't know.
Jenny: Do you know what you're hoping he will bring you?
Eleanor: (panic rising in the voice) I don't know.
Jenny: Well, he knows all about you, and he loves you. He'll know just the right thing to bring you.
Eleanor: He... he... he will bring me something I will never forget.

#2
(Having read a book where somebody mentions that you'd better be good ...)
E: What that means?
J: Well, some people think that if you do lots of bad things, Santa won't bring you any presents.
E: Oh... well, I do great things so he will bring me a toy.


#3
(Before going to the university's holiday party to meet Santa)
J: What are you going to say to Santa when you meet him?
E: I don't know.
J: Maybe 'nice to meet you'?
E: (insulted). NO. I NOT saying that.
J: Oh... why not?
E: He already knows me. I met him last year at the mall. I not saying 'nice to MEET you."
J: Oh, of course. You already know each other. Maybe you'll say, 'good to see you again."
E: Yes.

#4
E: I want to go to our mall again this year and see Santa again.
J: We can do that soon.
E: I don't think he's there yet.
J: He's already there.
E: (long pause) Does he travel all over the world to meet childre....
J: Yes.
E: Do other people have malls?
J: (thinking fast)Oh, yes. Other people have malls. And the Santas at malls are special helpers for Santa who go to the malls to meet the children... while the re... while
Santa is at the North Pole making toys.
E: Oh.

#5
E: We learned a song today about Rudolph.
J: Oh, Rudolph the Red-Nose Reindeer.
E: Yes, Rudolph the Baga
J: Rudolph the Baga?
E: Yes.
J: Like 'rutabaga'
E: Yes, like rutabaga. Rudolph the Baga.

8:08 a.m. - 2005-12-01
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>