Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

grace

I was a skeptic. I didn't think you could do a meaningful, exciting traditional wedding. Stylish, yes. Tasteful, yes. Emotionally moving, yes. But I thought I'd been to a million of them, and b-o-r-i-n-g.

But Craig and Marly pulled it off. They made a marvelous, interesting wedding.

As I sit here and listen to the mixed cd they gave everyone, I'm thinking about what allowed the excitement to happen. It speaks to their great generosity of mind and spirit.

Where many couples stress that it's "their day" and that they'll do what they want with it, Marly and Craig focused on making their guests and participants feel important and entertained, down to the tiniest details.

Friends and family provided all the music; it mattered that the opera singer's voice was strong, full, and full of tears. I'd never quite heard emotion like that in a song before. And okay, when Marly's grammie and Ed sang, we all needed to lie down on the floor and sob. Rather than boring us all snotless with 1 Corinthians, the readers (go Chris!) shared personal writings. Friends sang at the reception during the meal; tables had a singing competition to get the bride and groom to kiss. And here's one of the tiny details that shows their consideration: all the dance music was cued up on a laptop and speakers so that the songs all flowed together and we didn't have listen to the fumblings of some sleazy, incompetent DJ.

I'm not saying that I need to be entertained at a wedding. I've been moved and happy at weddings that put me to sleep with dullness.

But it says a lot about Marly and Craig and the future of their marriage, what their daily life will look like, that their thoughts were of others as well as of themselves. It was the opposite of Bridezilla. Some Bridezillas seem to hold onto remnant of their grouchy, temperamental power for a year or so afterwards. I imagine the Marly and Craig's graciousness coloring their life together for more than 1 year to come, but as a definition of their marriage.

7:55 a.m. - 2005-10-04
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>