Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Eleanor at the reception

What I will remember about the reception is Eleanor's hilariousness.

We arrived at the reception after her bedtime. But she gamely ate a salad (a salad!) and two dinner rolls. Then she announced she was ready for cake. Grandma Rita sneaked away to get her a tiny sliver of a cake. By the time, she got back, Eleanor had slumped against my shoulder where she slept through singing and toasts and video montage for the next hour. She also slept on Chris, despite his meagre padding.

When it came time for the wedding party dance, we did a shift to Grandma Sheila so that Chris and I could dance. In the middle of the dance, I saw Grandma Sheila coming out on the floor with her. My first thought was that she had just gotten too cranky and needed her parents. Then I noticed that she was pumping her arms above her head, like she was dancing to that traditional wedding song, "Shout" by the Isley Brothers. Then she danced our legs off for the next half-hour until she announced, "is it time for me to go home for bed now?"

8:15 a.m. - 2005-10-04
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>