Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Summer Vacation

What I'm looking forward to about vacation:

(1) Chris Green, number 1.
(2) We will not require mountains of equipment and snacks to go virtually anywhere. If we have to be anywhere at a certain time, we will be on time. I will not have to tie anyone else's shoes.
(3) This may be my first vacation for long,long while without a child and unpregnant, which means that I will not have to have a constant radar sightings of all bathrooms within a mile radius.
(4) I will be visible again. I'm not quite as invisible as old ladies in my daily life, but mothers of gorgeous, extroverted preschoolers are pretty invisible. I would have to be shockingly beautiful to even make an impression on the average retina when I'm in the company of the Nor-nor.
(4) Motel continental breakfasts.

What I'm not looking forward to:
(1) Missing Eleanor

(2) Being frequent victim of Mother Guilt for leaving her with her grandparents and of Mother Fear of all of us navigating the nation in separate, potentially lethal motor vehicles.

(2) Having to make conversation with strangers myself, rather than just serving as Preschooler Translator/ Apologist (a role I enjoy; if only I were bilingual, I could be at the UN, but the only language I truly speak like a native is Eleanorese.")

8:50 p.m. - 2005-07-28
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>