Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

gloves and woofers

-- Am I the only mother in America whose toddler is hoping for woofers and a bass booster for her birthday so that she can make the car shake with her Sesame Street songs?

More than anything else, Eleanor's desire for loud music makes me realize that she's entering the world of kids. Her demands for "Turn it up" and "Louder! Louder!" until I feel that Ernie has melded with my brain and that surrounding cars are possibly staring have turned her more and more into a separate person in my mind. She's leaving the mama cocoon and entering a world of her own with opinions, commentary, and comrades --sometimes Big Bird, sometimes Peter and Claire from play group.

Her world is becoming her own, and I am a foreigner: at the most trivial level, she will never remember a life without DVDs while they will forever remain miraculous to me. At the same time I begin to understand why parents are never quite capable of trusting their adult children to survive -- I mean, I am daily dealing with a person who can't put on mittens on her own. She cannot take a simple tube of cloth and stick her thumb in the thumb hole. And she's going to grow up and earn her own living and feed herself?

Yes, the person who cries for louder and louder music will.

2:52 p.m. - 2005-01-26
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>