Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wisdom from the Y

Wisdom from the Y:

I think that I've seen enough to begin to deduce a pattern. Guys on upright, regular exercise bicycles tend to talk out loud to themselves more than other folks at the Y.

Which causes me, directly in front of them on a recumbent bike, to just about jump off my bike whenever I hear them.

Because...the first lesson I learned working in a mental hospital is "Be aware of your surroundings," which is a euphemism for "Don't let anyone who's 'responding to internal stimuli' get behind you." Generally, people with schizophrenia are far more sinned against than sinning in the violence department. Nonetheless, "be aware of your surroundings."

Which means that when I hear the guys on the exercise bikes start talking into the air behind me, I jump.

Of course, generally they're talking about how many minutes they have to go, and presumably they're talking to Katie Couric since they're all wearing headphones.

So Jenny's wisdom from the Y today: if you're going to purchase a piece of exercise equipment, consider the recumbent bike.

4:13 p.m. - 2005-01-29
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>