Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy Thanksgiving

Last night, we took the leaves off our Thanksgiving tree and read them to each other. Afterwards, I kept thinking of things I'd forgotten to list in our blessings of 2006. Straightening up the house while Chris gave E a bath, I remembered my old dreams that I would someday live in a drafty old house full of books and kids. Unless we're lucky beyond the odds, it seems unlikely that we'll fill the house with children, but as I reshelved books last night and checked the thermostat, I realized once again how much this life looks like my dream. Books spilling off shelves, the creaks and history of an old house, the joy of warm sweaters and tea on a cold night, laughter and splashing water upstairs. The world is utterly heart-breaking with so many sorrows you can't take them all in or feel them sometimes. How sweet then for a night when all seems right and you know how fortunate you are.

Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours. The Mamablog will return after the holiday.

8:22 a.m. - 2006-11-22
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>