Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Recipe Rebellion

The great good news in our household is that Chris will be getting an insulin pump -- the good lord and the insurance company willing. It will allow him to keep tighter control of his blood sugars, and we hope that the control will keep him here with us for many more years.

The downside is learning to cook in a new way. At least at the start, he will have to have extremely precise measurements of his food. So we're practicing weighing everything on an electronic scale, and we're making friends with the metric system. Grams, grams, grams. I also need to learn how to use recipes properly. Lots of cookbooks give you nutritional information (carb counts, fat counts, etc.), eliminating the need to weigh every single ingredient and then do a whole lot of math. However, you do need to follow the recipe. I am not a recipe follower. I'm always looking for ways to adapt recipes for our needs, to add my own little tweak to the dish. I certainly don't use measuring cups of any kind unless I'm making baked goods. I'm a big fan of throwing everything into a pot and seeing what happens.

So now I'm a little cranky because I have to become a recipe follower; I also probably need more measuring cups. Some vegetarian diabetic cookbooks came in the mail today, and I begin a new cooking life tomorrow.

5:46 p.m. - 2006-10-03
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Garden Report

The Much Missed Garden Report: There are just a few flowers left on the crepe myrtle. We have enough leaves fallen in our yard that Eleanor wants to jump in them, but not enough for her to do so. Most of the flowers are fading away, and we're down to about 1 tomato per week. Soon our neighbor will get her desired green tomatoes for frying. I moved a whole bunch of black-eyed susans, and I planted a dozen daylilies (12 for $20 from Jung Seed)along our front walk, and they seem to be surviving. I planted some hardy mums in the new bed also.

5:42 p.m. - 2006-10-03
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Brrr...

I'm in the market for a freezer. After two years of living in this house and struggling with our fridge, I'm finally willing to admit this. I'm in the market for a freezer. I had thought that we were just really poorly organized or that side-by-side refrigerators were the work of Satan. But a few weeks, I saw a side-by-side at somebody else's, and it was huge. It had plenty of room and enough room in the freezer for more than a couple of packets of veggie burgers and some ice cubes. We just have a small refrigerator. By American standards, of course. The rest of the world survives with dorm-size fridges or no fridges at all, and I feel guilty, guilty, guilty. And I'm proud of the fact that I can organize a Thanksgiving Dinner for 20 with a dinky refrigerator and a stove with only two working burners (that's another appliance story). Nonetheless, I'm in the market for a freezer. I yearn to save money, to buy things on sale and freeze them.

I am told that, unlike most other appliances, freezers have not gotten significantly more energy-efficient in recent years. So I'm hoping to pick up a used freezer through the paper or at an estate sale. So dear readers, this is just a request to keep your eyes peeled on the refrigeration front and to let me know if you spot a freezer (chest, upright, I don't care).

1:56 p.m. - 2006-10-01
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>