Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On the Loose

On The Loose

It's summer vacation season, and we thought our travels this year had ended. But two hitherto unacknowledged family members have apparently decided to hit the road: Chris's socks and Eleanor's underpants. What a couple, and god only knows where they are. I'm pretty sure that neither of them can drive.

All we know is that they are not in this house, and we hope that they're not in the dryer hose or stuck in the lint trap. Bon voyage, we say, because we're headed to Target this afternoon.

10:15 a.m. - 2006-07-17
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The New Look

Welcome to the new look for the mama blog. I'm just excited as all get out because I actually had to edit the HTML and everything. Which I don't actually know how to do. So I'm pretty excited about. If you'd like me to link to your blog in the other entries area, send me an email.

4:12 p.m. - 2006-07-15
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cat pee

So the cats peed all over the recycling in the garage. Huntington has a crappy recycling program, and so we collect stuff that we can take to Lexington or Charleston in the garage. We used to collect it there. Then the cats got into the garage and peed all over the recycling.

I did not think long about washing the pee off all the recycling. In the words of my friend Hannah, "_Maybe_ before I had kids...." And maybe before life became so busy, I would have washed it off. In 2006, I knew that this massive pile of recycling would have to find its way to our alley to be picked up the sanitation crew on Wednesday (bless their hearts).

I also knew that it would break Chris's heart to see all this potentially recyclable material heading off to the dump. This is the man who saves styrofoam egg cartons. I used to think that he was saving them up against the day when they would be recyclable. I found that endearing. Turns out he was just avoiding throwing them away because it made him so guilty and sad even though he held out no hope for his egg cartons. Even more endearing.

I knew that Chris would not be the one to package up this recycling. So I waited until this morning until Chris and Eleanor headed off for an all day fishing trip. Then I bundled up all that plastic and took it out to the garbage cans.

I left the glass, thinking, "Well, we really could just hose that down."

2:50 p.m. - 2006-07-15
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>