Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

battery

It's official: I no longer look like a battered wife. The bandages are off my face; the scars are concealable with make-up; my tooth has been repaired; and the bruising on my leg could now be mistaken for a weird tan.

Hallelujah. I can also wear regular shoes again.

Apart from the pain, the worst thing about this injury is the be-smirching of Chris Green's reputation. People who know us believed our story, and the hospital staff did, too (after they tested me on my story for consistency each time I met a new person). The rub lay with people whom we barely know. I could see the expression in our acquaintances' face: I wouldn't have guessed that her husband beat her.

And for the record, he doesn't. But unfortunately, unless people come out and ask, it seems a little paranoid to announce that one's injuries were not husband-inflicted.

9:10 a.m. - 2006-05-02
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>