Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nanny McPhee

Nanny McPhee! Go see it! Get ready to rent it and buy it on DVD for your children, nieces, and grandmothers. My friend Mary Lynne and I came out of the "Wanting to See Nanny McPhee" closet to each other, and we saw it this weekend. I've never seen anything like it.

I mean, how many movies have you seen in which a father and child have a discussion over a dead body? A dead body with toenail fungus and a toe tag? (The film father, Colin Firth, is an undertaker in a pseudo-Victorian world). How many movies have you seen where Victoriana is turned neon and purple? And how many movies mark significant plot developments with the magical disappearance of facial blemishes?

That last bit doesn't make it sound too attractive, does it? Nonetheless...

I have a weak spot for movies that do not condescend to children, but aren't grim and depressing either. I have a soft heart for stories that do not hide the sadnesses of life, while still showing the magic and joy. And of course, I love all that stiff-upper-life, make-the-best-of-it shit. Go see it.

8:28 p.m. - 2006-02-27
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>