Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MIscellany

Miscellany

-- Eleanor was so excited about the Valentine's Day party at school today that she refused to go to the bathroom before we left for school. Perhaps it's just the damage the aforementioned child did to my pelvic floor or perhaps my social life is dull, but I cannot imagine a party keeping me from peeing.

-- Some emails expressing concern that I'm too cold in my office and should turn on the space heater. I can and do use the spaceheater from time to time, but I kind of dig the stoicism, too.

--I'd probably dig the stoicism more if I could devote the money saved from not using the space heater to buying nice stuff for ME. But it will certainly go to the dentist's bill, usefull but less glamourous than, say, a new bra.

-- Justin Ryan, boy meteorologist on WSAZ in Huntington, listen up! Please, please stop standing in front of the weather display on the screen. We can't tell what the weather is going to be because you're ALWAYS standing in front of it. Why hasn't someone put a mark on the floor for him?

-- Yesterday, I was on the elliptical machine at the gym when the words "Cheney Shooting" came across CNN. I was shocked at first, but then thought, "Well, of course. He is the most hated man in America." When it turned out that Cheney had shot someone in a hunting accident, I thought again, "Well, of course. That makes more sense than him being shot." That's how you get to be a villainous vice-president: when people find it even more believeable that you would shoot someone than that you would be shot.

-- After almost two years in Huntington, I'm starting to feel like I have real friends here who I can talk to.

9:47 a.m. - 2006-02-14
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>