Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Collections

"Desire, desire, I have too dearly bought with price of mangled mine thy worthless wares." So said Sir Philip Sidney a few hundred years ago (I can't be bothered to look up either the date or the line break for you... sorry).

And it's now a lesson that Eleanor is learning. Spurred by the magic of Christmas and all its present opening, Eleanor has been seized by the desire for objects, what she calls "collections" and what we have finally figured out means "merchandise." As in, "I love Hello Kitty Collection," "I love Princess Collection," "I love Mickey Collection," "I love Blues Clues Collection," ad infinitum.

So here we are, helping her sit with her fruitless desires and figure out her happiness. Already this week, I have said many times, "Things do not make us happy." I will say it again.

And god, I remember how badly I wanted stuff, cheap and tacky stuff, Collections verily when I was small. And I feel for her.

10:15 a.m. - 2006-01-19
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>