Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mr. Adkins

The dirty laundry having mounted to waist-height in the the upstairs hall, we desperately awaited the arrival of the new switches for the dryer. Or at least those of us without a recent infusion of new Hello Kitty underwear were desperate. We've been thankful for the unseasonable weather since it meant we could forego scratchy handwashed longjohns.

And I just have to give acclaim and adoration to Mr. Adkins of Adkins Appliance Repair. He's calm, professional, and competent. He does the job without complaining about work other people have done or making us feel stupid about breaking the appliance in the first place. I've never really understood that attitude I have to say; if people weren't so dumb about what we do to our appliances and our plumbing, wouldn't it be much harder to make a living in the repairing trades?

Anyway, Mr. Adkins... he doesn't overcharge, he's friendly and not creepy. And he calls me Mrs. Hobson and I call him Mr. Adkins, which is just so quaint and wonderful and proper that I just about have to pass keel over.

11:40 a.m. - 2006-01-10
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>