Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cellulite

I've got a new resolution, almost in time for the New Year. I'm going to try a little cognitive modification on myself, based on two lines of thought I had in the gym. After almost 7 years at the "Y" and seeing other women's naked bodies on a near daily basis, I realized that cellulite has more to do with genetics than weight or exercise. Lots of women my size or bigger have no cellulte at all, and here I am with cottage cheese thighs since childhood. And then, the other day, before we took Eleanor swimming, I was just dreading putting on my bathing suit and heading off to the pool on aforementioned legs.

And then it hit me, a little opportunity for practicing some cognitive therapy on self. I'm going to train myself to belief that my now motherly and Rubenesque body is lovely. Specifically, cellulite is HOT, HOT, HOT.

People seem to survive happily with far more delusional beliefs than that all the time.

I'm taking the Muslim world as my model. Yes, cellulite is hot and unbelievable sexy, so much so that we must keep it hidden. It is so purely sensual that we even pretend that we hate it, we write magazine articles condemning, we develop products to minimize it. It is the love that truly dare not speak its name. Cellulite, so desired, so admired, it has become totally taboo.

That's my starting point. I'm not saying that I'm going to stop going to the gym or start devoting my diet to heavy cream. Just a little thought modification. A fun task for 2006.

4:08 p.m. - 2005-11-27
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>