Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The tree

Thanks to everyone for their thoughts on Christmas trees, real and otherwise.

The real tree contigent came forward with eloquent and creative arguments. Lots of suggestions on things you can do with your tree to keep it from going to the landfill. Many communities compost the trees and have a special pick-up; fertilizer for acid-loving plants, etc. They won me over and totally eradicated my fear that a real tree was wasteful.

That said, I decided to go for the "free" option (and no one will be surprised by that). My mother-in-law, Christmas collector extraordinaire, had an extra artificial tree, and we will be using that. The real tree advocates proved so moving on the subject of childhood magic, the smell of pine, and the true meaning of Christmas, that I might still have gone for a real tree were it not for.....

THE PUPPY FACTOR.

Given that I'm likely to be picking the tree up off the floor many times this December, I decided that I would rather not mess with shedding needles and spilled water. We're also not using any breakable ornaments this year, and the sentimental ones are going way up high.

So to those of you who suggested that a small child needs a real tree in the house, there's always next year when Chelsea is grown and sedate (please god!)

4:16 p.m. - 2005-11-27
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>