Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Go Fug Yourself

I've become addicted to the website "Go Fug Yourself." Some weeks I check it daily. For those of you good people out there, "go fug yourself" is dedicated to exposing and damning celebrities' tacky clothes. The writing is hilarious, "snarky" if we were using the Brit import word of the moment (which Go Fug Yourself often does). I love the writers' willingness to say bitchy things about people we're all supposed to venerate. I love reminders that we all put our really ugly pants on one leg at a time.

The site is evil.

I disapprove in so many way: of the celebrity culture and of knocking people down just for dressing like the rest of us. I haven't seen fashion in years. Okay, I haven't seen fashion ever, and I look more and more Quakerish every year (god preserve me from the docksiders and the bowl cut, though). I was born to be a mother so that I could explain away all the stains and dribbles on me. But believe me, I dribbled on myself long before Eleanor did.

And... And...And I read "Go Fug Yourself" daily.

A friend and I have been writing back and forth about the delights of human complexity, the joys that cannot be solved or explained. Chalk another one up.

7:59 p.m. - 2005-11-12
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>