Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I can hardly take the glory

It's Thursday, which means I haul my butt into Chris's office at 7:30 in the morning to work on his computer, and oh the glamour of it. I asked Chris if he was just overwhelmed by the mystery and sophistication of heading off to work every morning. He said not.

And I'm not back home in the home office, where there is a tiara on my desk. Oh the glamour. I imagine in a real office, in a twenty-something chick-lit kind of scenario, you could have a tiara on your desk, leftover from some raucous office party that involved the photocopying of buttocks. I have a tiara on my desk because Eleanor left it here the other when she was playing on the Higglytown Heroes website.

Meanwhile, I have apparently volunteered to be the team parent for Eleanor's soccer team. Practice starts tonight. When I filled out the form, I kind of thought "team parent" meant that I was a parent of a team member. I didn't really imagine there were duties, more like just reporting your blood type to your doctor. Yes, I'm type B positive and I'm a team parent. Actually, it's something more like "room mother," which apparently (and of course) is now a sexist moniker and not to be used. I'm the "team parent," and I'm responsible for herding other parents in a social-type manner and getting them to produce snacks at regular intervals. And according to the coach, some parents might have issues they need to work out with the snacks. Hoo boy.

1:31 p.m. - 2005-09-15
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>