Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hating Mail

It's a day for odd anonymous not-quite hate mail in the Hobson/Green household. We just received a computer printed letter in ALL CAPS, outlining how trashy our house and street look and how our property values could all be enhanced if only we all picked up litter and took care of our yards. No return address, typewritten envelope (oh, great, not just hostile, but paranoid, too!). No threats, just the shrill ALL CAPS.

I think it's a form letter though I haven't seen any of our neighbors to ask. I think this because the handwritten postscript says "TRIM YOUR STREET TREES SO PEOPLE CAN USE THE SIDEWALK." Our only street tree is a baby redbud we just planted this spring; it won't be blocking the sidewalk for decades.

I guess I would a little bit more concerned if the postscript had been, "TAKE DOWN YOUR PEACE FLAG OR I'LL PUT A PIPE BOMB THROUGH THE WINDOW."

Still, it's disturbing because:
(a) what kind of person thinks anonymous mail is okay?
(b) what kind of person blankets the neighborhood with "your house is trashy" form letters, for goodness sake?

1:03 p.m. - 2005-07-19
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>