Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Haines Turner

I rarely mow the lawn without thinking about Haines Turner, an older Bloomington gentleman now dead for almost ten years. We shared so many of the same values, and I didn't know until later about his prison visits, his Quaker faith, his anti-death penalty activism. I was the young girl who mowed his lawn and took care of his garden the first year he couldn't do it all himself, and he never could quite accept either of us. Mowing my lawn and pulling my weeds and glorying in my tomatoes, I cannot blame him.


You will have the pry the spade out of my hands.

8:15 p.m. - 2005-07-15
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>