Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The King

Sandi Kahn Shelton, one of my favorite writers, poses the question: why do three year olds think they would be excellent kings? Why do they think they are uniquely suited for ruling the world when they can't even dress themselves?

I'd like to add the following corollary: why do three year old kings think that bossy imperatives are the best way to communicate with their humble subjects?

I mean, does anyone yell at this child; does anyone shriek "Give me the blue playdoh" at her? No, we don't.

But the 3rd birthday seems to have heralded the need for such classic parental phrases as "You do NOT talk to your parents/grandma/the cats in THAT way!"

9:14 p.m. - 2005-07-14
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>