Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Laud

Lots of coverage in the paper today about a 97 year old community icon who has passed, Jim the owner of the local Spaghetti place. The articles made me wish we had moved here sooner and could have met him; he sounded like a beacon of integration and friendliness, a father to his young and old staff, and a purveyor of chocolate cake.

My grandfather was an icon, well-respected in his community, big landowner, moderniser of farming. And a mean, mean man behind the scenes. Whenever I read articles about community leaders, I always wonder if that's the whole story or if they were really a nasty piece of work.


Maybe that's sad, a loss of trust and innocence. But I don't think so. I'm thirty-two years old; naivety over the age of 25 is a small, but significant sin, one I'm constantly fighting. So long as I can hold on to the idea that Jim the Spaghetti Guy probably was as good as the article said, if certainly more complex, then all is well.

8:35 a.m. - 2005-06-11
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>