Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

cash

Where's Randy Cohen when I need him? Let's ask the ethicist. (Am I the only one who's wondered how the Ethicist can be named Randy?)

-- So I've now observed twice cash transactions going on with our teenage next door neighbor. Kid comes to the door with money, then leaves. I don't actually see anything passed back, but....as hypervigilant mommy type, I start pondering.

But the question is: what to do? what to think?

Our neighbor has been through a lot this year; she and her husband have separated. You don't want to add to someone's burden. But yet if something's wrong....

I think if Eleanor were passing cash back and forth on our doorstep, I would want to be told, regardless. And I'd be delighted to explain that it's all about Girl Scout Cookies.

But then I don't face the stigma of everyone assuming my child is a thug just because she's a taciturn teenage African American male (whoa! somewhere in there my pronouns got mixed up). And I'm so damn naive about drugs and dealing; I don't know what an actual deal would look like. I worry that I am assuming it's drugs just because he's black and because he has never said hello to me since we moved in.

I DON'T IMAGINE REAL DRUG DEALS GO ON UNDER THE WATCHFUL GAZE OF MIDDLE-CLASS MOTHERLY NEIGHBOR.

Oh, Ethicist, answer me.

6:28 p.m. - 2005-05-31
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>