Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Feng shui on 15th Street

Let's face it: Shinto monks did not design our house. Or as Grover would say: "I think my feng shui just feng schwent."

I've spent the last hour trying to re-organize the bathroom space with our existing furniture. In the best situation I've come up with, the toiletry dresser is just almost flush with the bathroom door so that it can't quite fully open, almost fully but not quite. And the old washtable in the hallway is now holding our towels, but its placement means that obese person might think twice about trying to get to the home office.

So I propose two Jenny shui rules

(1) Position the opening of the bathroom door so that points you directly toward the toilet, making you ever mindful of your purpose in the john.

(2) A narrowed entry to the home office directs negative work energy away and keeps the focus on the home.

On a tv design show, we would go out and buy special slim-line furniture that can fit in our spaces. But I'm afraid the third Jenny shui rule is:

"Mend it, use it, wear it out. Make it do or do without."

7:37 p.m. - 2005-05-30
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>