Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Evolution

SARCASM ALERT! DON'T READ IF THE KANSAS BOE ARE YOUR PERSONAL HEROES.

So the minister said today, in his discussion of challenges that would face new high school graduates in college: "Now I'm not saying that ALL scientists are bad."

Really? Not ALL scientists are bad? A few are okay? Which ones would those be?

Are you okay with the scientists who made watching ESPN sportscenter possible? Maybe owe an ounce of gratitude to vaccine developers (Pasteur, okay)? The scientists that made traffic lights and car brakes? Do they pass muster in the good vs. bad showdown?

Not ALL scientists are bad people. That makes me nuts. We need to think about how we've framed debate such that the majority of scientists and their work is invisible and incomprehensible and their rest are demonized.

Spent a good portion of the drive home, trying to figure out why we're all still so bothered by evolution. I mean, it seems to me that evolution by natural selection is after all one of the more divine aspects of our universe, one of the more awe-inspiring mechanisms. So I puzzled and puzzled, thought about how my grandmother's grandparents would have been around for Darwin and how 150 years is not that long.

And then it hit me.

That's right; some folks still have their pants in a wad over Genesis One.

2:33 p.m. - 2005-05-29
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>