Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Time keeps on trippin'

My favorite thing about living with a toddler is getting to make trips to other time dimensions, to visit a mind where time doesn't exist in the way that it does for me. I think I understand more about relativity, the universe, and possible worlds theory now just from living with someone who lives in a different kind of time. Time is not an arrow for Eleanor; it's not even orderly, and it exists differently for all the characters that pass before her. I don't want to go all Wordsworth on the wisdom of children; I know that her understanding of time is flawed by her limited cognitive development. But in some way, these statements are true:

"When I am a baby again, I will drink from a bottle."

"When I the grownup and you the child, I will take you to the doctor."

"When you a baby, I will carry you."

"I be brave to get my toenails trimmed when I five years old."

"I will see Grandma Sheila 3 weeks ago."

"I went to the beach yesterday with Katie and Caroline" (it's been a year).

11:13 a.m. - 2005-05-18
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>