Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BEDS

Bedtime has become the moment for existential questions. I remember this so clearly from my own childhood: the pressing nature of obscure questions and the need for answers as I drifted off to sleep. And now Eleanor pursues her own.

Currently, she ponders FAMILY SLEEPING ARRANGEMENTS THROUGHOUT HISTORY.

In particular, I am required every night to tell about the bunk beds that Uncle Craig and I slept in when we were children, how I slept on the top because I was the biggest, how our room had flowered wallpaper, how there was a vent in the floor that allowed us to hear Mom and Dad talking in the kitchen. I haven't thought about that room so vividly in a long time. What a gift from my daughter.

And then of course, where was Uncle Luke in all this? So that led to talk about how Uncle Luke was sleeping in Grandma's belly since he wasn't born yet. Which led to...

-- Uncle Luke got borned?
-- Yes, everyone gets born; everyone starts out as a baby.
-- I didn't know that.

So tonight, we made our way to this conversation:

-- Grandma and Grandpa got borned?
-- Yes.
-- When they were born?
-- A long time ago (Sorry, Mom and Dad).
-- And they slept in cribs?
-- Yes.
-- They slept in the same crib together.
-- No,they didn't, because they didn't know each other until they grew up. And then they got married and slept in the same bed together.

7:03 p.m. - 2005-04-18
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>