Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Imprinting

Sometimes I feel like a spiritual chameleon. When people find out you're a Quaker, that automatically seems to get respect because they think "Oh, religious persecution, William Penn, abolition, peace movement." All that good stuff. And that's great. I like it; I like this tradition I come out of.

But....

I try to avoid at any and all costs any kind of evangelism, witnessing, etc., as I think do the majority of Friends(well, in the spiritual realm, probably not in the political). The downside is that it may allow people to form assumptions about what I believe, that would make them feel deceived if they knew what I did believe. I mean, with one friend, I can seem the perfect secularist; with another, I can seem spiritual.

Which is okay, I guess. I am spiritual and secular. I am conservate in the sense of simple living and wacko liberal in the political sphere. I also happen to have a very unQuakerly love for mysteries and spy shows. I just don't want to mess with people's comfort zones.

Why not?

6:00 p.m. - 2005-04-18
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>