Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CUTENESS! CUTENESS! CUTENESS!

All right, cute sayings alert. Anyone who comes to this blog to read my own heartfelt pseudo-cyncical humorous reflections about the state of my soul (ha!) should flee now because you're about to be dosed with toddler cuteness.

-- Last night, we were reading "Moo, Baa, LaLaLa" by Sandra Boyton for bedtime reading. It's a cute book that goes over all the major animal sounds and ends with the question: "It's quiet now, what do _you_ say?" Eleanor just looked at me and whispered, "I love you."


--At bedtime, we all say something that we are thankful for and then we hold hands for our blessing. Eleanor has taken to asking her buggy what he's thankful for, and then she puts Buggy's little paw in our hands for the blessing.

-- And then we say our blessing, the other night, and we hear Eleanor's sweet little voice... "Bless all those we love, those here and .... DADDY, CLOSE YOUR EYES!" in the voice of Attila.


--Eleanor has three baby dolls whom she has just begun to tolerate. She calls them "my pets," and I'm pretty sure she doesn't mean it as an endearment. The dolls' names are Sarah Mae, Bottle Baby (she is the doll who drinks and pees), and Baby Sheila Hobson. It is a little surreal to be tucking your child in at night and say, "Have you got Sheila Hobson?" Or in the case of last night, I really don't think that Sheila Hobson ought to sleep in her car seat in your bed."


So that's the nocturnal cuteness report today.

Eleanor should be home from the babysitter's soon. Last week, she and the mayor apparently spent the lunch hour trading tall tales, so I'm eager to hear about her adventures this today.
Personally, I've spent a lot of time this weeke playing "Jenny Hobson" and "Chris Green." I got a bit downhearted yesterday during this game when Eleanor handed me Baby Sheila Hobson, told me that she was Chris Green and that she was going to work for a few days. And then she walked out the door. Some days really don't call for that kind of meta-analysis of your life.

4:40 p.m. - 2005-04-14
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>