Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Christmas miracles

Christmas miracles:

All day long one day early in December, I wished someone would send me a wreath. I've always longed for someone to send me a wreath through the mail. But this year, we're using the fake tree the Bryants left behind, and I was particularly wanting some fresh green in the house. I even thought, "I wish someone would send me one of those wreaths through the mail, but I know no one will." (That's the crux of the Christmas miracle, isn't it, to reach hopelessness just before the astonishing event). At 6 pm, up rolls the UPS truck. My aunt and uncle had sent me a wreath.

Christmas Miracle #2: Early one morning (and you know that means 6 a.m.), Chris and Eleanor were watching _A Muppet Christmas Carol_, and our doorbell rang. A woman had knocked off the Corolla's side mirror, and she drove around until she figured out whose house it belonged to so that she could make arrangements to pay for replacement. She could have driven on; it was six in the morning; and we would simply have learned a bitter little lesson about honesty and humanity. Instead, Eleanor got the best Christmas lesson of the year. Several times this month, I have heard Chris repeating what she told him, "I find that when I do right by people, it comes back to me ten fold." Thank you, Rhonda Staley

Christmas Miracle #3: My car made a terrifying noise. It doesn't matter what, really, but something I might have ignored in my childless days. It could have just been the result of a skid on the ice, nothing to do with the working of the car. But having a child makes you take car maintenance seriously. So we took it down for the new mechanic to look at. I think he spent at least an hour with it, driving it, checking the computer, etc. He found nothing wrong. So at the end of the day, when we came to pick it up, he refused to take any money for looking at the car. Thank you, Friends Automotive.

7:42 a.m. - 2004-12-20
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>