Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

this and that

-- Constantly being the new person is beginning to wear me down a little bit. I'm now nominating it as "Hardest Thing About Moving." I just seem to reach a saturation point of not wanting to go out, meet new people, be witty and kind, demonstrate my best behavior. I just want to sit around and eat potato chips and watch trashy movies with someone I've known for years. Let's put it this way: there is no one here except for Chris and Eleanor who has ever seen me hooked up to a breast pump. Somehow leaving Lexington, where virtually everyone I knew had seen me in some incredibly embarrassing position (flat out in a hospital bed, hooked up to Bossy the Breast Pump, etc, etc.)... well, there's comfort in that. Everyone had seen me at my potential worst. And I know that I'll get to that point with people here, make those kinds of friends (although hopefully, I won't ever have to be hooked up to Bossy in front of God and everyone on a regular basis ever again. But, but, but...

-- Why does the McDonald's visible from our house need 8 American flags on the roof. Why 8?

-- Preface: I am loving Huntington; I think it is a great place for our familiy to live. My only complaint: it is extremely pedestrian unfriendly. Not just in terms of horrid sidewalks, crosswalks, etc, though that's true, but in terms of driverly attitudes. I have never in my life had drivers heckle me because I was crossing the street at the appropriate time. It's odd. It's like being a pedestrian is some kind of foreign activity that hasn't been seen before.

-- The mamablog urges you to vote. Please vote. Please, please vote. And please just keep it to yourself if you're voting for Nader; I really would rather not know.

--My mother reports that she was talking to Eleanor about voting, and she listed the candidates for her two year old granddaughter. When she got to President Bush, Eleanor said "Not that one." So just bear it in mind.

9:56 a.m. - 2004-11-01
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>