Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Consumption

The first gnashings of consumer desire:

A Toys'R Us Circular came in the paper the other day, and Eleanor found it this morning. And on the front page, she found a singing/dancing/ jazzercising Elmo and immediately declared "Eleanor want it." So hardening my heart (not difficult for a cheapskate like myself), I told her that she could ask Santa for it for Christmas. She looked at me like I had suddenly transformed from lovable mommy to cold mother.

I hardened my heart some more. Wrongly.

Turned out that she thought it was a sticker, and she couldn't figure out why we wouldn't cut out the picture of Elmo so she could stick it to her shirt. So we did.

But it turns out we planted a seed. Later, she told me that she wanted to get that Elmo "at a shopping." Again, I told her to appeal to Santa.

Why did I tell her to ask Santa?

Because there is no way in hell that jazzercise Elmo is coming to our house this Christmas (Do you hear that, softhearted grandparents? No singing/dancing Elmo this Christmas unless you want to have singing/dancing Elmo live at your house? I didn't think so.). I just heard Eleanor tell the babysitter that she wants this Elmo for "Chrisam" (aka, Christmas).

If I throw the little picture away today and make sure that there are no more unfortunate sightings of jazzercising Elmo, will she forget by Christmas?

3:43 p.m. - 2004-10-05
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>