Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dreams

I have been having the strangest dreams lately

-- Last night, I dreamed variously that I was attending an action film festival, that I had a gigantic house with 8 distastrously messy walk-in closets, and that I was babysitting Timmy and his friends. It was 10 o'clock at night, and his friends (all dressed in shorts in the middle of december) wouldn't go home. I couldn't figure out how to get them home because I was worried about my parents' pet bear (?!) which roamed the countryside at night. So I invited the bear in and gave it some saltines.

-- I dreamed that giant Swedish Fish (the candy) were swimming around the walls of my parents' old home.

-- I had an especially vivid dream about my friend Martha, whom I haven't seen in a couple of years since the last time I was in Bloomington. In the dream, she updated me on the lives of children. Her youngest daughter had grown up to be an artist; she took enormous pieces of film (like 20in by 20in) and painted on the film, making these incredible translucent, multimedia paintings.

-- I dreamed that Chris and I were learning about the end of the universe. We were in Eden Park in Cincinnati, at night, and we were looking at stars. We could see "the universe" which looked like a blue jellyfish. A shooting star fell across the universe, and then the universe began to collapse. In a moment we found ourselves in a gigantic blank white room, and we realized that the universe had ended. We were so happy and relieved that, despite the end, we were still together and that we would be together in this room. A staircase opened up in the room, and everyone we knew began pouring in. My mom brought Eleanor, and my father was talking about the last thing he remembered before the collapse of the universe (being confused about why he was angry about a football game that had ended three hours before). Eleanor's friend Amelia was there. And what we realized was that the "universe" was always like this, hundreds of rooms, always collapsing and always being created anew and that we were always in them.

7:37 a.m. - 2004-04-28
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>