Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Money

-- Eleanor being over at my mother-in-law's this evening (where apparently she is caring for her crying baby doll), I had a chance to take an evening stroll in my garden. What a delight! The lettuce looks great; we need to have a salad again tomorrow night. The recently planted tomatoes do not seem to be profiting from the recent rain. They seem slightly overwhelmed.

-- Today, Eleanor told me that she was "five years." When I asked how old I was, "two years." A medical miracle!

-- A conversation today between me and a little boy at the playground.

Boy: My grandpa has a tractor. (very regretful face) Or I should say, he had a tractor.

Me: Oh, why is that?

Boy: Because he is dead.

Me: I'm sorry. That is sad news.

Boy: Yeah, I was really sad. My sister cried for two days.

Me: Sad things can make us cry a lot.

Boy: I didn't cry at all, but I was really sad.

Me: Well, sometimes we don't cry even when we're really sad.

Boy: Do you know what I really like?

Me: No, what do you really like?

Boy: Money.

Me: Yes, lots of people like money.

Boy: I like money.

Me: It's important to have money, enough money.

Boy: Do you know why I like money?

Me: No, why?

Boy: Because I am almost broke. I am almost completely broke.

Me: Well, yes, money's really important when you're broke.

Boy: I'm broke. I'm almost completely broke.

7:37 p.m. - 2004-04-27
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>