Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Today's discoveries

Today's discoveries

(1) I think I hate myself as a baby. Shortly before Eleanor was born, my mom and dad moved house (or was it shortly after?), and they brought me all my sentimental stuff they had been saving for years. With all the strange memory loss I have surrounding summer 2002, I had forgotten about these boxes in my basement, but which I have now found and rummaged through. We read my baby book today. I started sleeping until 4 am when I was two months old. I started sleeping truly through the night when I was six months old. I think I hate myself as a baby.

(2) My daughter likes dark chocolate. I was eating my daily rationing of Dove Dark Chocolate Mini-Eggs (found three bags at Kroger the day after Easter!), and I tried to pawn her off with "This is mommy's medicine. It's yucky!" It _is_ mommy's medicine. Chocolate is important for sanity and heart health and all that. I wasn't lying. But she was having none of it, so I thought "What the hell... it's bitter; she's going to hate it; I'll let her have a bite, and she'll never bug me again about it." She loves it. On the one hand, I applaud her early development of good taste; on the other hand, is she going to run me into the poorhouse by wanting fine chocolates and Italian olives and French cheeses before she goes to kindergarten?

3:58 p.m. - 2004-04-24
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>