Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

this and that

Abstraction: It begins. Eleanor can see an outline of a house and know that it is a house. And building blocks are also houses or "make house." I find myself mesmerized by a skill I never think about possessing. How could she possibly figure that out, I think, watching her "make house."

Generalization: every new thing in our house was previously owned by Eleanor's good friend, Amelia. Or so Eleanor believes. After the inheritance of a batch of hand-me-downs, Eleanor believes that all clothes she hasn't seen before, clothes she's forgotten, new toys: all come from Amelia. Also, she looks at the Boobahs and knows that they are kin to the Teletubbies (they look like psychedelic obese sufis: way trippier than the tubbies).

Insurance: The ways that we part-time workers and stay-at-home moms save money can often be subtle. For example, how much money have we have saved because I have infinite time to sit on the phone with health insurance representatives until they agree to cover our claim. The company has recently restructured or hired a lot of new people or something, and they're refusing every claim that comes through. I wonder how long it will take until a "Don't bother refusing" note gets added to our file? How long until they realize that I have way more time than they have?

Today's words: "Itchy," "Daddy work", "Elmo pants," and "No House"

7:45 p.m. - 2004-04-23
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>