Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Timmy's parenting column

Timmy has gone to live with his adoptive family. In honor of his life transition, I'm devoting an entry to a list of parenting advice given to me by this 6 year old. If only I had kept a list over the 10 months he lived with Rita and Jerry, this found poem could be hundreds of lines long.

-- Jenny, they make a better car seat than this. It has a cup-holder.

-- Jenny, Chris does not park here (at the farmer's market).

-- Jenny, this is not the way Chris does it (during virtually any activity undertaken by Timmy, Eleanor, and me).

-- Jenny, there will come a time when Eleanor shouldn't take a bath with a boy.

-- Jenny, I hope that when she turns two, you're going to get some better plug covers.

-- Jenny, them pants are too big.

-- Jenny, pull up them pants.

7:36 p.m. - 2004-04-03
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>