Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I need sleep!

WHINE WARNING!

My goodness, up all night again. Sorry, prospective parents who are reading this, I did get three consecutive hours of sleep last night, which is much more than you'll be getting shortly, I'm afraid.

Let's face facts, shall we? My child is twenty months old; she sleeps through the night on average 1 out of every four nights. This is not what I was expecting at this point. Occasionally, we hit a jag where she'll sleep several nights in a row; we get enough sleep to notice just how sleep-deprived and rotten we feel. And then it's back on the wheel of sleeplessness.

It is kicking my butt, and I can only wonder what it would be like if Eleanor were difficult to be around during the daytime. Which she was today (due to, I think, that classic combination of no sleep and constipation). Normally, she is so bright and cheery during the day that night doesn't seem so terrible.

It's enough to make me want to say, "Either we are having no more children or we are having another pronto so that we can have hopes of getting some rest sometime around 2010?"

5:26 p.m. - 2004-03-25
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>