Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nursing blues

I am done with breastfeeding, and Eleanor is not done. She continues a passionate relationship with the breasts, and I am so tired of nursing her.

Guilty, too. We worked soooooo hard to be able to nurse. I was desperate when I thought she wouldn't be able to and so ecstatic when she did. She had to go the first eight weeks of life outside without nursing much, and I think that contributes to her continued passion. Nursing has been a gift, making the care and feeding of a premie much easier and letting us catch up on our bonding after our early separation.

Yet now, I resent the hell out of having to get up in the middle of the night to nurse sometimes when nothing else will calm her; I really resent the cannibalistic boob attack at 5 a.m. every morning.

p.s. Today's Big Bird's birthday, which we will be celebrating with a tea party.

9:13 a.m. - 2004-03-21
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>