Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Grandma Guilt

So yesterday, shortly after I got back from driving Eleanor to meet my mom and dad, in the midst of cleaning the pig sty our house has become and also zooming off excel files and frantic emails to one of my bosses, Chris's grandmother comes over. Ostensibly to drop off a cap for Chris, really to see the baby. Upon discovering that Eleanor was up at my mom and dad's, she came forth with:

"You let that baby go?! You let that baby go?!" followed by "You sent that baby away?!"

Like I'd put her alone on the train to the orphanage or perhaps to be a mail-order bride out on the prairie. Instead of sending her to her adored grandmother who also happens to be an RN.

Then she asks through narrowed eyes, "What exactly is it that you do? What work is this?"

Like I'm making up the fact that I am a working mother with too little childcare.

So you know, it just reaffirms in me that mothers need less guilt and that I will do my utmost to keep from inspiring guilt in other moms, because there's plenty of guilt out there for us to tap into.

2:39 p.m. - 2004-03-16
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>