Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Care and Tending of the Wild Toddler

Rebellion on the toddler front! Today, in meeting, Eleanor oh so cutely waved at folks during the introductions, and then she turned into what my grandma would call "a pistol." Talking loud, biting my nose. I told her to listen, and then rather than sweetly shutting up as usual, she looked me in the eye, grinned, and said "No" over and over again. It makes you wonder about your authority as a parent; it makes you wonder "what other people must be thinking." But really, authority is quite limited in some ways. I can't _make_ a talking toddler be quiet. I can only remove her from the situation, which is what I did.

I suppose that's why we don't expect the littlest ones to sit through any part of meeting.

On an unrelated note: if someone would design some sturdy flooring that incorporated into the design the following elements, I would be in the market for it, and I'm sure many other parents would be as well.

(1) something that looks like squashed peas.

(2) something that looks like squashed raisins

(3) something that looks like spilled amoxycillin.

1:43 p.m. - 2004-03-14
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>