Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

this and that

-- Eleanor apparently is confused on the whole Sabbath thing. She does not rest on the seventh day. She does not believe in Sunday naps.

-- I just finished two days of intensive teaching, and I long for some kind of focused break to clean house and knit. Eleanor was gone just last weekend, so I'm feeling guilty about this desire. But perhaps the life of parents is always to long for one's own quiet time, to never get enough of it, and for that to be okay.

-- The aspect of toddler life that annoys me most thus far: the d**n wood puzzles. I don't like puzzles; I didn't like them as a child; and I loathe putting them back together now multiple times a day. But put them back together I do, rather than just dumping them in a basket. Because I am paranoid about losing pieces. Because I paid perfectly good money for them!

-- The language explosion is upon us. New words every day; as Chris finishes the dissertation and gets ready for job interviews, let us hope that we don't start swearing like proverbial sailors. Or we know what will be coming out of her mouth next.

-- I love hearing her say "tank oo" and "belly" and "Ma-y" (Craig's girlfriend, Marly).

1:17 p.m. - 2004-03-07
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>