Hobson's Choice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

WHINE WARNING (there will be complaining in this blog)

Heaven help us if the child ever reads this... but here it is: I do not love Big Bird. I did not love Big Bird as a child, and I only tolerate him now.

As a child (and you've got to remember that my youngest sib is 8 years younger than me, so I watched Sesame Street for a LOOONG time), Big Bird made me uncomfortable. His cluelessness, his egotism! It annoyed me that Big Bird could never figure out what the people around him were thinking and feeling. As my mom says, "It's always all about Big Bird."

Chris reminds that Big Bird is supposed to be a child, supposed to have that ego-centrism. I know, I know. But somehow I expect more out of a 7 foot tall bird who has his own apartment (of sorts).

Anyway, now that Eleanor's here and a full-fledged Bird groupie (or cult member, depending on how you look at it), I've taken a fresh look at Big Bird. And I have found a certain affection for him, just because Eleanor loves him so much and he's not Pat Robertson or anyone like that. He's okay.

But boy, do I not love "Big Bird Sings," the Big-Bird-Centric video and current favorite at house.

5:13 p.m. - 2004-02-19
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

DiaryLand

contact

Other diaries:

My cool neighbor Heather's blog

Literary Mama

J.B. Sundries

Donut Buzz

MUBAR

Sandi Kahn Shelton

>

read a random entry of mine

>